FB Logo

About Eastern Idaho Public Health District

Public Health in Idaho
Eastern Idaho Public Health District (EIPHD) was created by the Idaho legislature in 1970 to provide services for Bonneville, Clark, Custer, Fremont, Jefferson, Lemhi, Madison, and Teton Counties.

There are seven independent public health districts in Idaho, which cover all of the state's 44 counties. The public health districts derive their authority under Title 39, Chaper 4 of the Idaho Code. As outlined in the Idaho Code, public health districts are to provide the basic health services of:

  • Public Health Education
  • Physical Health
  • Environmental Health
  • Public Health Administration
  • Other Services as Needed

Our Mission
The Mission of Eastern Idaho Public Health District is:

  • To prevent disease, disability and premature death;
  • To promote healthy lifestyles; and
  • To protect and promote the health and quality of our environment.

To accomplish this mission, Eastern Idaho Public Health District provides clinics, health education, consultative services, referrals for special medical care, environmental health protection, and epidemiological investigation. These services are available to every resident within our eight-county area.

Office Locations & Hours
Eastern Idaho Public Health District has offices located in Challis, Driggs, Dubois, Idaho Falls, Mackay, Mud Lake, Rexburg, Rigby, Salmon, and St. Anthony.

Main Office:
Eastern Idaho Public Health District
1250 Hollipark Drive
Idaho Falls, Idaho 83401
Phone: (208) 522-0310
Fax: (208) 525-7063

Office hours are typically 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday; however, office hours may vary in some of our satellite offices. EIPHD offices are closed on weekends and holidays. Immunizations, family planning, and other clinics may be scheduled during evenings and weekends.

To find the location and hours of the EIPHD office in your county, click here:

EIPHD Office Locations

Board of Health
Eastern Idaho Public Health District is governed by an nine-member Board of Health, comprised of one county commissioner from each of our eight counties and a physician representative. The Board of Health of Eastern Idaho Public Health District meets regularly to review and approve the District's budget, programs, and services.

District Administration
EIPHD's Board of Health employs a District Director to oversee the daily operations of the Health District. The district's Administrative Staff is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the health district.

Return to EIPHD home page.