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July 8, 2011

Dear Daycare Provider:

Our records indicate you have a current daycare license or have had a daycare license within the past
three years. As a provider of daycare services, we would like to make you aware of recent changes to
Idaho rules governing standards for child care licensing. There were three significant changes impacting
child/staff ratios, licensing fees, and local options for licensure that went into effect July 1, 2011.

Child/staff ratios

The current method of determining child/staff ratios adopts a point system on how children are to be
counted and removes the maximum group size requirement. Under this system, the maximum allowable
points for each staff member providing direct care is twelve (12), using the following point system which
is based on the age of each child in attendance:

DIVISION OF FAMILY AND COMMUNITY SERVICES

Age of Child in Attendance Number of Points Assigned
Under 24 months 2 points
24 months to under 36 months 1 ¥ points
36 months to under the age of 5 years | 1 point
5 years to under 13 years Y2 point

Licensing Fees; The maximum fee to be assessed for a daycare license was established as the following:

Number of Children Fee
More than 25 children $325
13-25 children $250
Group daycare facilities and family $100

daycare homes choosing to be
voluntarily licensed

Local Options: Cities or counties have the option to choose to determine whether or not children of a
provider count or not count in calculating child/staff ratios in meeting requirements for licensure. If cities
or counties do not elect to exercise their right of a Jocal option, state child/staff ratio requirements apply
and children of a provider will count in calculating child/staff ratios.




Please be aware, provisional daycare licenses are no longer being issued. Therefore, new daycare
facilities will not be allowed to operate until the application for licensure is complete and a license has
been issued. Daycare licenses are in effect for two years and must be renewed. Applications for licensure
renewal must be submitted and approved within allowable timeframes in order for a daycare facility to
continue operation. Daycare facilities that fail to apply and/or complete the renewal process within
required timeframes will be required to submit a new application and fee and will not be allowed to
operate until a license has been issued.

Please be advised, it shall be a misdemeanor to operate a daycare facility without first obtaining a daycare
license from the department. If there is reason to suspect a facility is operating without a daycare license,
all related information will be forwarded to law enforcement.

Additional information has been enclosed for your review. This additional information is related to
Idaho’s State Daycare Licensing application and renewal processes, as well as information related to
criminal history compliance. This information specifies some of the required timeframes and
requirements when applying for a daycare license or when applying for a renewal of that license. These
timeframes and requirements will be enforced. If you have questions about daycare licensing, the
licensing application or renewal process, please call the Idaho Careline at 2-1-1 or 1-800-926-2588 and
ask to speak with a Daycare Licensing Vendor Specialist to further assist you.

Sincerely,
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Maulyn Peoples
Daycare Licensing Program Specialist

cc: file




Idaho State Daycare Licensing Application Process

Date of Application Start date of application is the date the
completed and signed application is received
by IdahoStars.

45 days prior to six months All documentation submitted and fees paid

after the date of application

All documentation noted in the box at the top of this page must be received, correct, and
verified within six months from the date of application. Therefore, all required
documentation should be submitted at least 45 days prior to six months after the date of
application. This allows time for documentation to be verified and allow time for any
deficiencies to be addressed and complied with within timeframe requirements. Delays
in submitting paperwork may result in insufficient time to process paperwork or give the
applicant insufficient time to address any deficiencies noted.

Application Denied

If all documentation noted in the box at the top of the page is not received, correct,

and verified within six months from the date of application, the application for license
will be denied for failure to cooperate with the application process. Applicants who have
been denied are prohibited from reapplying for a daycare license for one year from the
date of denial.

The Daycare Licensing Application Includes:

Signed and completed application form

Applicable licensure fees paid to Health Department
Documentation of criminal history clearance

Passed Health Inspection

Passed Fire Inspection

Proof facility meets tocal ordinance

Proof one adult staff member present is certified in pediatric rescue breathing,
infant-child CPR, f{irst aid {reatment

Proof of liability and fire insurance

Proof of 4 training hours per year, per staff (Centers only)

SN N N NS NN

Please be aware, provisional daycare licenses are no longer being issued. Therefore, new daycare
facilities will not be allowed to operate until the application for licensure is complete and a
license has been issued.




Idaho State Daycare Licensing Renewal Process

45 days prior to license expiration date  Licensing renewal form due
Licensing fees paid
Documentation of criminal history clearance

All required documentation should be submitted 45 days prior to license expiration. This
allows time for documentation to be verified and provides time for any deficiencies to be
addressed and complied with prior to license expiration. Delays in submitting paperwork
may resulf in insufficient time to process renewal paperwork or give the applicant
insufficient time to address any deficiencies noted.

Expiration date All required documentation must be
submitted and correct.

It renewal form, fees, or criminal history clearances are not submitted by expiration date,
the daycare license will expire and the daycare facility must close. The facility will need
to submit a new application and fee. The facility may reopen only once a daycare license
has been issued.

If renewal form, fees, and criminal history clearances are submitted by the expiration
date, the department may choose to allow up to 45 days for paperwork to be processed
and verified. During this time, the daycare license will continue to be in effect and the
facility may continue to operate. However, at the end to the 45 day period, a license will
either be issued or the application process will be terminated for failure to cooperate with
the application process. If the application process is terminated, the facility must close
and must submit a new application for daycare license and fee. The facility may reopen
only once a daycare license has been issued.

The Daycare Licensing Application Includes:

Signed and completed application form

Applicable licensure fees paid to Health Department
Documentation of criminal history clearance

Passed Health Inspection

Passed Fire Inspection

Proof facility meets local ordinance

Proof one adult staff member present is certified in pediatric rescue breathing,
infant-child CPR, first aid treatment

Proof of liability and fire insurance

Proof of 4 training hours per year, per staff (Centers only)
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IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF
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Standards for Daycare Licensing include criminal history checks of daycare staff and other individuals

CRIMINAL HISTORY COMPLIANCE
Facts and Guidelines

What is the criminal history background check?

The background check is a search of records, databases and registries which include the Federal Bureau of
Investigation (FBI), the State of Idaho crime records, Idaho driving records, the statewide Child Abuse Central
Registry, Adult Protection Registry, Sexual Offender Registry, Nurse Aide Registry and the Office of Inspector
General exclusion list.

Who Is required to complete a criminal history background check?

The IDAPA Standards for Daycare state each owner, operator, or applicant seeking licensure for a daycare center,
group daycare facility, or a family daycare home must submit evidence that is satisfactory to the Department that
owners, opetators, staff and all other individuals thirteen (13) years of age or older who have unsupervised direct
contact with children or are regularly on the premises have successfully completed, and received a clearance for, a
Department criminal history and background check under the provisions of Sections 39-1105 and 39-1113, Idaho

Code.

Background checks on youth 13-17 years old must include a check of juvenile justice records for each jurisdiction
in which the youth has resided since becoming (13) years of age. The juvenile justice check is to include records
of adjudication of the magistrate division of the district court, county probation services and department records. -

Under Idaho Code, any person providing daycare for four (4) or more children in a family daycare home is
required to obtain a criminal history check.

Where do I go to start a background check?

Go to the web site htips:/chu.dhw.idaho.gov and follow the instructions at the home page. If you need assistance
completing your application you can contact the Criminal History Unit at 208-332-7990 or toll free at 1-800-340-
1246. If you do not have a computer at home with internet access, computers are available at certain Health &
Weltare offices for this purpose or check at your local library.

What if I live in a rural area and cannot get to an IDHW office to complete the fingerprint appointment?

If you cannot get to a Health & Welfare office that provides fingerprinting, you will still complete the application
on the web site. Instead of scheduling a fingerprint appointment, you will need to contact the Criminal History
Unit at 208-332-7990, toll free at 1-800-340-1246 or by email at crimhist@dhw.idaho.gov to obtain a fingerprint
card and directions on completing the fingerprint process by mail.




GUIDELINES FOR CRIMINAL HISTORY CHECK COMPLIANCE

NEW DAYCARE LICENSE APPLICATIONS:

As a licensed daycare ownet/operator, you will need to register with the Criminal History Unit and obtain
an Employer Identification Number. You will provide this number on background check applications
associated with your daycare.

Each daycare owner, operator, staff member and all other individuvals required to complete a Department
criminal history and background check must be included on the daycare application and receive &
criminal history clearance prior to the issuance of a new daycare license,

DAYCARE LICENSE RENEWAL APPLICATIONS:

As a licensed daycare owner/operator, you are required to maintain compliance on an ongoing basis and
keep records of all criminal history clearance for your staff and other individuals who must meet the

criminal history requirements.

Staff members and other individuals, who have obtained a department criminal history clearance and
remain in the same place of employment or daycare residence, are not required to complete another
background check unless potentially disqualifying information is obtained. Criminal convictions or
juvenile justice adjudications for disqualifying crimes must be self-disclosed to the employer. The
employer has five (5) days to report these findings to the Department.

Your daycare license renewal application must be submitted at least forty-five (45) days prior to the
expiration of the current daycare license. Each daycare owner, operator, staff member and all other
individuals must be included on the daycare application. Verification of criminal history clearance will
be completed prior to the issuance of a daycare license.

TRANSFER OF A CURRENT DEPARTMENT CLEARANCE:

A department criminal history background check clearance, completed within three (3) years from the
date of employment, can be transferred to any employer. To fulfill the criminal history requirement, the
new employer must ensure that a new Idaho State Police record check is completed with no disqualifying
crimes found. A copy of the department clearance letter and the Idaho State Police record check must be
on file with the new employer. Additionally, the transfer must be reported by the employer to the
criminal history unit to attach to the correct employer [D#,

If a Department criminal history and background check clearance is more than three (3) years old from
the date of hire, a new Department criminal history and background check is required.

WHEN CAN A NEW STAFF MEMBER WORK IN THE DAYCARE?

The licensed daycare provider has three options as to when a new staff member can begin work. They
may choose to start the staff member once they receive the signed and notarized criminal history
application. They may want to wait until the after the fingerprint appointment or they may wait until the
background check is cleared. Regardless, the provider is required to follow up through completion of the
process and maintain records.




GUIDELINES FOR CRIMINAL HISTORY CHECK COMPLIANCE (conT.)

WHY IS A NOTARIZED SIGNATURE REQUIRED ON THE APPLICATION?

» The notarized signature on the application gives Health & Welfare the authorization to conduct the
background check and share certain information with the employer or licensing agency. Signing the
application affirms that the information provided is correct. Failure to disclose criminal record may
result in the denial of application for a period of three years, or criminal prosecution for perjury.

Please remember, as a licensed daycare provider, your responsibilities include:
¢ Making employment and child safety decisions
¢ Prescreening applicants prior to their submitting an application
e Knowing how to use the criminal history web site and assisting applicants in submitting their application
e Identifying any disqualifying offenses that may pose a risk to health or safety

¢ Excluding applicants with disqualifying offenses. An applicant with disqualifying offenses will not clear
a criminal history background check and cannot work in a daycare.

* Providing employees with the 4 digit Employer ID#, the type of service and contact information.

s Ensuring timeframes are met. Fingerprints are required to be submitted 21 days of signing the application
and having it notarized. If the fingerprint appointment is not completed in this timeframe, the applicant or
staff member is not in compliance with the criminal history requirements and cannot work or continue to
work in a daycare.

» Reviewing background check results.
¢ Printing the clearance letter and keeping a copy on file.

¢ Conducting the Idaho State Police record check on all accepted criminal history clearance transfers and
keeping a copy on file.

o Contacting the criminal history unit to add the Employer ID# to a transferred clearance.

If you have questions regarding these Facts and Guidelines for Criminal History Compliance for daycare
licensing, please contact the Idaho Careline at 2-1-1 or 1-800-926-2588 and ask to speak with a vendor specialist,

who will be happy to assist you.




